General election

View Calendar
04-07-2024 All day

General election


The General Election will take place on Thursday 4 July 2024.

Following changes to Parliament constituency boundaries, residents in the RG10 postcode area fall into two areas for electing Members of Parliament:

  • Maidenhead
  • Wokingham

These are named the same as before, but boundaries have been redrawn and each therefore covers a rather different area. Whereas RG10 previously came under Maidenhead, most residents are now part of the Wokingham area, except for a few villages such as Waltham St Lawrence, Shurlock Row and part of Knowl Hill. You can view a map of current and new boundaries on the House of Commons library.

You can also check your parliamentary constituency by putting your postcode into the Electoral Commission upcoming elections checker.

Whatever happens, both constituencies will have a new Member of Parliament, since the two present incumbents (both Conservative) are standing down - Theresa May (Maidenhead) and John Redwood (Wokingham).

Candidates for each area will be published in June. You'll receive a poll card in the post before the election, telling you where to vote on Thursday 4 July.

Important links